Agricultural Economics announces 2021 Outstanding Alumni and Service Award winners

November 3, 2021

Lincoln, Neb. —The Department of Agricultural Economics at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln has recognized Brent A. Gloy and Boris E. Bravo-Ureta as recipients of its 2021 Outstanding Alumni Awards, and Nebraska Soybean Board, as the recipient of its 2021 Outstanding Service Award.  

The three honors are awarded annually to individuals and organizations in recognition of their significant contributions to agriculture, which align with the department’s research, teaching and outreach in agricultural production and profitability, natural resources, rural development and industrial organization.  

Gloy is currently a Trustee with the University of Nebraska Foundation and the Managing Partner of Gloy Farms in Grant Nebraska. He also serves as Partner and Co-Founder of Agricultural Economic Insights, LLC ( His specialty is in agricultural finance and agribusiness management. From 1999-2014, he served in faculty positions at Cornell University and Purdue University. He graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with a bachelor's in agricultural economics/agricultural honors in 1994 and a masters and doctorate in agricultural economics from Purdue University in 1996 and 1999, respectively. 

Bravo-Ureta has been a professor of agricultural and resource economics at the University of Connecticut since 1980. He has also been a visiting professor/researcher with several institutions, including a Visiting Faculty Fellow with the Economic Growth Center of Yale University. He has served as a consultant for numerous organizations and countries. He previously served as Executive Director for the Office of International Affairs (1998-2008) and as Director of the Learning for International Development Program (2008-2019), at the University of Connecticut, in both capacities. He graduated with a bachelor's in agricultural economics/agricultural honors in 1994 and a masters, agricultural and applied economics, University of Wisconsin-River Falls in 1979.  He received his doctorate in agricultural economics from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1981. 

The Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) is a private, non-profit organization that is funded through the soybean checkoff program. Led by nine volunteer soybean farmers, the NSB invests and leverages soy checkoff dollars to maximize profit opportunities for the state’s 23,000 soybean farmers. Their mission is to develop markets, educate consumers, discover new uses and research new ways to produce soybeans more efficiently and sustainably. The NSB has funded several research and education programs within the Department of Agricultural Economics, including the Commodity Trading Room, and the development of the Marketing in a New Era (MINE) program and the Agricultural Budget Calculator (ABC). 

For more information about the Department of Agricultural Economics, visit: 

2021 Award Winners

Brent Gloy 

Brent A. Gloy (pictured above) 


 Boris E. Bravo-Reta

Boris E. Bravo-Ureta (pictured above) 

 Nbraska Soybean Board

2021 Service Award – Nebraska Soybean Board