Bischoff among Food Systems Leadership Institute Fellows Honored by APLU

Richard Bischoff
The University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Richard Bischoff was among 23 Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) who were honored during a ceremony at the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU).
December 16, 2022

Lincoln, Neb. —The University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Richard Bischoff was among 23 Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) who were honored during a ceremony at the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU). 

Bischoff, associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic leader success for UNL’s Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, and the 22 other fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and the broader higher education and food systems. 

The FSLI is a two-year program designed for experienced leaders in academia, government, and industry.  Through a dynamic curriculum that includes three executive-style residential sessions, individual coaching, mentoring, and personal projects, the FSLI seeks to enhance personal leadership ability, develop skills and knowledge for organizational change, and broaden perspectives on integrated food systems.  

Fellows report that the FSLI experience has had a significant impact on their leadership abilities.  Leadership growth can be measured in many different ways, and more than forty percent of the FSLI Fellow Alumni have experienced promotions, selection to lead high-profile initiatives, election to university-wide leadership posts, and other recognitions.  Other Fellows are using their enhanced leadership and broader food systems perspectives to lead change from their current positions.   

The FSLI is a program of the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.  It was created with financial support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is operated in a partnership between North Carolina State University, The Ohio State University, and California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo.  More information on the FSLI is available at

Other fellows honored are:

Paula Agudelo, Associate Dean for Research & Experiment Station Director, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences, Clemson University

Cindy Akers, Interim Dean, Davis College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Texas Tech University

 Kimberly Allen, Interim Associate Dean and Director of Academic Programs, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, NC State University

Doze Y. Butler,  Professor, Merchandising, Textiles and Design, Department of Fisheries and Human Sciences, The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff 

Francis Casey, Associate Director, ND Agricultural Experiment Station, North Dakota State University

Courtney Colombo, Section Manager, Abbott Nutrition 

Tracy Dougher, Associate Dean for Academic Programs, College of Agriculture, Montana State University

Majed El-Dweik, Vice President of Research and Economic Development at Alabama A&M University. 

Jason Ellis, Department Head and Professor, Department of Communications and Agricultural Education, College of Agriculture, Kansas State University

Antomia Farrell, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment, University of Kentucky

Lynette Flage, Associate Director, North Dakota State University Extension

Donald Grebner, George L. Switzer Professor of Forestry and Department Head of Forestry, Mississippi State University

Sarah Lovell, H.E. Garrett Endowed Chair Professor and Director, Center for Agroforestry School of Natural Resources University of Missouri   

Noble, Providing leadership for special projects for the College of Agriculture, Family Sciences and Technology, Fort Valley State University 

Ami Smith, Vice President and Dean and Director for Agricultural Research and Extension , West Virginia State University

Elizabeth Strand, Endowed All Creatures Great and Small, Clinical Associate Professor, Founding Director, Veterinary Social Work Program, Colleges of Veterinary Medicine and Social Work, University of Tennessee    

Jeanette Thurston, College of Agriculture Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs and New Faculty Development and Director and Professor, Food Science Institute,  Kansas State University

Deb VanOverbeke, Assistant Dean, Academic Programs, Ferguson College of Agriculture, Oklahoma State University 

Brian Warnick, Interim Department Head, Department of Technology, Design and Technical Education, Utah State University

Louis Whitesides, VP & Executive Director of Land Grant Programs, South Carolina State University 

Wesley L. Whittaker, Dean and Director of Land Grant Programs, School of Agriculture and Applied Sciences, Langston University,  

De'Shoin York, Vice Chancellor, Extension and Outreach, Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Share to: