Faculty Spotlight: Amanda Easterly

Meet Amanda Easterly, a research assistant professor in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture based at the High Plains Ag Lab.
January 22, 2024

What is your position at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?  

I am a research assistant professor in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, where I conduct research on dryland cropping systems with Dr. Cody Creech and lead the Nebraska Crops Testing Program. My position is based at the High Plains Ag Lab near Sidney, where I work with local farmers through Nebraska Extension and also teach a class for graduate students. 

What drew you to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? 

I am a Husker graduate twice—for my Bachelor and PhD degrees. It is a joy to work with a department and institution that focuses on conducting research to directly help farmers in Nebraska and beyond. A bonus is that Nebraskans are fantastic people all around. 

What aspect of working in an educational setting do you enjoy the most? 

The collaborative nature of academia is what kept me involved in the university after graduation. Together with colleagues in IANR, we have formed “Team Sawfly” to help farmers who battle yield losses in wheat from an insect pest. We can do so much more together than any one of us alone. I am also thankful for the chance to work with graduate and undergraduate students from around the globe, seeing them grow into amazing scientists and scholars. 

What do you consider your greatest achievement? 

I am not sure I have had one greatest achievement in my career life—my hope is that I can keep making small differences that help farmers, students, and my fellow Nebraskans. In my personal life, my greatest achievement is my family. I am thankful to get to build a life with my husband and three kids in a wonderful community. 

What is something that most people don't know about you? 

It is not much of a secret—but I like to scout out quilt shops when I travel. I seem to hoard fabric faster than I can make quilts but do try to finish 2-3 quilts each year. Sometimes my quilts have even been placed at county fairs. 

What is your life like outside of work? 

We have three kids under the age of 6 in our house, so life is a dance of coordinating schedules of two working parents, getting kids to preschool and activities, reading bedtime stories, and being involved in our community and church, all while trying to sneak in a bit of time to get to the gym or go on a jog. I also get to spend a good amount of time in wheat fields with my favorite stakeholder, my husband, who farms full-time. 

Share to: