Faculty Spotlight: Lauren Stohlmann

Lauren Stohlmann
January 27, 2020

What is your position at the University of Nebraska—Lincoln?

I am a 4-H Youth Development Extension Educator and Unit Leader in Cass County.

What drew you to the University of Nebraska—Lincoln?

I was drawn to this position for several reasons. I was born and raised in Cass County and was a 4-H member in Cass County for several years. It is a dream come true to work and serve in a community so near and dear to my heart. I am very passionate about youth development. I was taught and mentored by exceptional people throughout the years. They truly shaped the woman I am today. I want to support Nebraska youth and help them in the same way that I was afforded growing up. My experiences at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln made me who I am, and I am so proud to work for this university alongside so many remarkable staff members. I’ve lived in several places in my young adult life, and nothing compares to home. The people, the pride, and the comradery is unparalleled. There truly is no place like Nebraska.

What aspect of working in an educational setting do you enjoy the most?

In addition to the fact that I get to educate youth and be a part of their journey in big and/or small ways, I have the opportunity to connect with hundreds of people. I engage with 4-Hers in Cass county, non-4-H students in the schools in Cass county, teachers, parents, volunteers, youth in other counties, educators in other counties, university instructors – you name it and I likely have the chance to interact with them. I engage with them in various ways including: county fair, state fair, leading workshops, teaching in classrooms, participating at a community event – like I said, you name it and I have an opportunity to be there. I really enjoy that as an Extension Educator I have the ability to interact with a lot of people in all walks of life.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

As corny (Pun intended. Get it? Because it’s Nebraska) as it sounds, this position is my greatest achievement. Years ago, when I started to apply to grad school, I told my family and friends that my dream would be to be the 4-H Extension Educator in Cass County. I vividly remember the moment I was with a group of friends at the 2017 Cass County Fair, right before I moved to Ohio for grad school. I pointed at the Extension office and said, “That’s where I want to be when I graduate grad school in two years.” I remember I told them that it would be a long shot and I’d have to get really lucky - and here I am! It is so gratifying to know that I made my dreams come true. To the people that helped me get here, if you’re reading this, thank you for the part you played in my journey. I am so grateful to you!

What is something that most people don't know about you?

Everyone that knows me will tell you I am an open book. There isn’t a lot about me that people don’t already know. So, this isn’t necessarily something people don’t know, but it’s a fun fact I like to share about myself. I am 25 and thus far I have lived in ten houses/apartments, in six cities/towns, in four states. That being said, my parents have helped me move every single time. I have incredible parents.

What is your life like outside of work?

Wait … there’s life outside of work??? I’m just kidding. I am a people person, so I spend as much time possible with my family and friends. I very much enjoy: playing with my blue heeler Bandit, getting my hands dirty in my garden, working with my dad and brother on our farm (my favorite job is grain cart driver), spending too much money on concert tickets, traveling especially to the previous states I’ve lived (Missouri, Ohio, and Indiana) to visit friends, eating at new restaurants with friends, cheering on the Huskers, crafting with my mom, and cooking and baking with my sister.