Gamma Sigma Delta recognizes initiates and award recipients

East Campus pillars at enterance
July 1, 2021

Lincoln, Neb. —The Nebraska Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, Gamma Sigma Delta, has welcomed 17 new members in agricultural sciences, natural resources, education and human sciences, biological systems engineering and their related sciences and technologies.

The following individuals were welcomed as 2021 Nebraska Chapter Gamma Sigma Delta new members:

Undergraduate Juniors

Amanda Most, Agricultural Education

Jalea Deborah Chandler,Child, Youth and Family Studies

Ryan Dean Rockenbach, Forensic Science

Danielle Higgins, Nutrition and Health Sciences


Undergraduate Seniors

Madisen Randa, Agronomy

Megan Herridg, Animal Science

Madison Whitney, Environmental Studies/Global Studies

Noah Alexander Hine, Fisheries and Wildlife


Graduate Students

Mason Caleb Lien; Fernanda Souza Krupek, Agronomy

Jasreman Singh, Biological Systems Engineering

Brett Lynn, Plant Health

Haley Beer; Rachel Gibbs-Wilson; Rachel Reith; Renae Sieck, Animal Science



Bradley Goetsch, Agronomy and Horticulture

Yeyin Shi, Biological Systems Engineering

Georgina Bingham, Entomology

Sherri Jones,Special Education and Communication Disorders

Reka Howard, Statistics


In additional to welcoming new members each year, Gamma Sigma Delta annually recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence in their academic lives, and professionals who have demonstrated excellence in their careers. The following students, and professionals who have contributed distinguished service to extension, teaching, and research were honored in 2021.

The following individuals were welcomed as 2021 Nebraska Chapter Gamma Sigma Delta award recipients:


Student Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

Amanda Most, Agricultural Education


Finalists for Outstanding Undergraduate Student

Payton Flower, Agricultural Economics

Jalea Deborah Chandler, Child, Youth and Family Studies

Kiersten Preuss; Kara Schlueter; Hannah Young, Nutrition Science and Dietetics  

Dani Higgins, Nutrition and Health Sciences


Outstanding Undergraduate Senior

Jadyn Cattau, Child, Youth and Family Studies


Finalists for Outstanding Undergraduate Senior

Tori Pedersen, Agricultural Education

Sydney Kimnach, Fisheries and Wildfire

Jonathan Niyorukundo, Integrated Science

Sesily Gaffey, Nutrition Science and Dietetics 


Outstanding Graduate Student  

Jordan Reinders, Entomology


Finalist for Outstanding Graduate Student

Gabriela Inveninato Carmona, Entomology


Faculty Awards

Excellence in Teaching: Ronald M. Lewis – Animal Science

Excellence in Extension: Karla Wilke – Animal Science, Panhandle Research and Extension Center

Excellence in Research: Daniel Ciobanu – Animal Science


Award of Merit for Outstanding Achievement

Thomas Hoegemeyer, Agronomy, Hoegemeyer Hybrids

James Van Etten, Plant Pathology


Because of COVID-19 restrictions, the Nebraska Chapter Gamma Sigma Delta Annual New Member Initiation and Awards recognition event could not be held in person. 

A virtual version of the event is available at

The 2020 Nebraska Chapter Gamma Sigma Delta Officers are Paul C. Hay, Nebraska Extension-Gage County serving as president; Dennis Brink, Animal Science serving as secretary and treasurer; Robert Wright, Entomology serving as membership coordinator and Dana W. R. Boden, University Libraries serving as historian. 

For more information about the Nebraska Chapter Gamma Sigma Delta, see 

Share to:

News Release Contact