Meet a Husker: Taylor Arens

Meet Taylor Arens, an animal science major from Crofton, Neb.
October 11, 2023

Hometown: Crofton, NE 

Major:  Animal Science with an Equine Science option  

Anticipated Date of Graduation: May 2024 

Why did you decide to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? 

I have been a Husker fan my whole life. My dad also went here back in the 80s. Whenever I took a visit and stepped on campus, I loved it. I wanted to attend Husker games and get that experience. It felt like the right place to study my major after I received my Associates of Science Degree in Animal Science at NECC.  

What is your favorite thing about the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? 

I love attending Husker games whether it's football, volleyball, basketball, baseball, or softball. Husker nation is made up of the best fans in collegiate sports! 

What about diversity and inclusion? Is it necessary to you when you think about your CASNR experience? 

I think anyone, regardless of background, can be involved in CASNR!  
Exposure to cultural differences is a huge part of college. What activity have you recently participated in that is different from what you are used to in your culture? This could be something you read, listened to, watched, eaten or otherwise taken part in. What did you learn from this activity? 

The UNL dining hall has done lots of meals with cultural dishes and it was cool being able to see what different cultures eat across the globe! 

What is your favorite class you have taken so far and why?  

At UNL, one of my favorite courses so far has been my intro to horse industry course. I didn't grow up in the horse show or rodeo world, so my experience with horses is very little, but I've enjoyed being able to learn more about the industry and horses in general. 

What are your plans post-graduation? 

I'mstill deciding on what I want to do post-grad, but an option that's come up is possibly Extension on the 4-H side. 

What's life like outside of school? 

I live on a farm and work at a job during the summer as well as working with livestock to prepare for my county fair in August. I've also been judging 4-H projects since last summer. I have a new job this summer working a remote internship with IANR.  

Share to: