Nebraska LEAD Announces 2021-23 Fellows

September 20, 2021

Lincoln, Neb. —Nebraska LEAD (Leadership Education/ Action Development) Group 40 participants have been announced by the program's director, Terry Hejny. The two-year program will begin in September. 

 The newest members of Nebraska's premier two-year agricultural leadership development program are involved in production agriculture and/or agribusiness in Nebraska.  

"Once again, it appears that Class 40 is filled with outstanding individuals from throughout our state and I am excited to get started with them. Our task will be to prepare and motivate them for future leadership roles in their community, our state and beyond," Hejny said. 

LEAD Fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14-16 day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for Nebraska agriculture and beyond. 

Seminar themes include: leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, leadership through communication, agricultural policy, international trade and finance, Nebraska’s political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social and cultural issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, information technology, advances in health care, the resources and people of Nebraska’s Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate. 

Nebraska LEAD 40 Fellows by city/town are:  

AURORA: Mitch Oswald 

BAYARD: Maggie Dickey 

BERTRAND: Tanner Nelson 

COZAD: Andrew Bellamy 

CREIGHTON: Rylee Stoltz 

DAVID CITY: Nate Parde 

GREENWOOD: Steve Landon 

HEMINGFORD: Timothy Hashman 

KEARNEY: Abe Smith, Hannah Swink 

LINCOLN: Austin Benes, Tyson Broekemeier, Eric Coufal, Kurtis Harms, David Moss, Rachel Prosser, Stephanie Schuler, Logan Sheets, Curtis Welsh 

LINDSAY: Amber Klassen 

LITCHFIELD: Cole Lewandowski 

MINDEN: Stephanie Nelson 

NORFOLK: Trentee Bush 

OMAHA: Kara Geweke 

PLEASANTON: Molly Dixon 


SCOTTSBLUFF: Blake Wohlers 

UPLAND: Chris Grams, Melissa Haack 

The Nebraska LEAD Program is sponsored by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 12 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska. 

News Release Contact