Staff Spotlight: Mamie Boerner

Mamie Boerner
Meet Mamie Boerner, a digital support associate in Agronomy & Horticulture.
November 1, 2022

What is your position at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?  

I am a digital support associate in Agronomy & Horticulture.  The main focuses of my job are to provide support for our department’s seminar and curriculum committees and assist with course scheduling, travel and CANVAS support for some of our classes. I am also a member of the Agronomy & Horticulture DEI committee and serve on the University’s Conduct Board. 

What drew you to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?  

I started my employment at UNL as a student worker when I was working on my bachelor’s degree.  After I graduated, I knew I wanted to eventually continue my education, but I also wanted to work here.  I really enjoyed the culture, especially on East campus, also you don’t feel like you’re in a city when you’re here and there is more sense of community.  Plus, it’s such a nice campus to be on with all the gardens and green spaces!

What aspect of working in an educational setting do you enjoy the most? 

The people and passion.  I work with such an amazing team in AgroHort, consisting of staff, faculty and students.  When you have the chance to sit and listen to their stories about what they teach, or their research, you can see the passion everyone has for their work.  It’s really inspiring to be around people with so much love for what they do!   

What do you consider your greatest achievement?  

In 2012 I took a huge risk and quit my job to go back to school full time.  I earned my bachelor’s degree in psychology in 2016 from UNL and am currently working on my MS in psychology with a goal of completing my Ph.D. I consider this my greatest achievement so far. Not because I have my degree, but because of the experience itself.  There were many hurdles during this time that could have prevented me from finishing my degree, but I learned a lot about perseverance and how important it is to have the right support system.  These are things I have brought forward with me in my studies and in my job.   

What is something that most people don't know about you?  

I have amassed a nice rock and mineral collection over the years.  My dad and I used to go fossil and agate hunting when I was little, and I guess I never stopping picking up rocks! 

What is your life like outside of work?

Outside of work I am a caregiver to my mom, a dog mom to two adorable pittie mixes (Samwise and Laila) and a student.  In my spare time I refinish and restore furniture, I also enjoy painting; I’m working in watercolors currently and focusing on lighthouses and night sky scenes. When I can I love to be outside with the pups in the garden, but I still have a lot to learn when it comes to growing plants. When I can, I travel and take every opportunity to visit the Outer Banks in North Carolina.  

Share to:


Agronomy | Horticulture