U. of Nebraska Biochemistry Club named outstanding student chapter

2016-2017 Biochemistry Club officers and members Taylor O'Brien (left), Erin Bertone, Jocelyn Daubendiek, and Drew Eggerm with Chapter Adviser Erin Sayer.

April 19, 2017

Lincoln, Neb. — The Biochemistry Club at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln has been honored as the 2017 Outstanding Student Chapter by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. The award is given in recognition of the chapter’s leadership in biochemistry and molecular biology educational activities, exceptional commitment to increasing public awareness of science, collaboration with other campus activities and events and participation in regional and national meetings.

“This is an award that most importantly reflects the achievements of the biochemistry students,” said Paul Black, Charles Bessey Professor of Biological Chemistry and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry. “It also highlights the commitment of the department to excellence in biochemistry education and in so doing, places the UNL biochemistry undergraduate program in the national spotlight - a very good place to be." The Department of Biochemistry is an accredited department by the ASBMB.

The Biochemistry Club will receive the award, along with $850, at the 2017 ASBMB annual meeting in Chicago, Ilinois on April 23. Faculty adviser Erin Sayer received a travel grant to attend the meeting to accept the award. The club will celebrate with department faculty, staff and other students during a reception on campus at a later date.

“It is a privilege to receive national recognition for the hardwork this club/chapter has put into improving the culture of the university and the community. This award speaks volumes for how dedicated this group of individuals are to helping peers, faculty, and community members promote STEM programs and science literacy.  It directly affects the great influence the biochemistry department has on its students,” said Drew Egger, of St. Charles, IL, a junior biochemistry major, Biochemistry Club president and ASBMB honor society inductee.

Other members of the club’s executive team and outreach committee listed by hometown are:

  • CORTLAND: Sophia Kisling
  • FALLS CITY: Taylor O’Brien
  • OMAHA: Bryce Byman
  • PAPILLION: Erin Bertone, Nathan Jatczak
  • FAIRBANKS, AK: Shannyn Bird
  • MORELOS, MEXICO: Shadid De La Rosa

Erin Sayer
Assistant Professor of Practice
Department of Biochemistry