UNL Students Honored by Animal Science Department, Block and Bridle

May 23, 2013

LINCOLN, Neb. — The University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Department of Animal Science and Block and Bridle Club recently honored students with awards and scholarships at its annual honors banquet.

Block and Bridle Club awards, recipients and hometowns are: Parr Young Outstanding Senior Merit Award, Senior Work Horse Award, Melissa Matulka, Thedford; Mike Cull Block & Bridle Judging and Activities Award, Lauren Wielage, Mead; Nebraska Corn Board Scholarship Award, Don Geweke Livestock Judging Contest-Top Junior Award, Laura Gorecki, Farwell; Outstanding Junior Activities Award, Grant Jones, Benkelman; Outstanding Junior Scholarship Award, Lisa Temme, Wayne; Outstanding Sophomore Activities Award, Corn Board Scholarship Finalist, Valerie Matulka, Thedford; Outstanding Initiate Award, Corn Board Scholarship Finalist, Hannah Kesterson, Alliance;

Don Geweke Livestock Judging Contest-Top Senior Award, Colton Williams, Broken Bow; William W. Derrick Family Scholarship, Don Geweke Livestock Judging Contest – Second Place Senior Award, Katie Ochsner, Torrington, Wyo.; Nebraska Corn Board Scholarship Interview and Scholarship Finalist, Kolin Scheele, Odell.

In addition, the following students were selected for student team awards. Eric Peterson Meats Judging Team Memorial Award, Eric Miller, Lyons; Frank E. Card Equestrian Team Award, Nicole D’Angelo, Auburn, Calif.; Del Kopf Memorial Scholarship, Sam Cares, Dexter, Mich. Wyatt Decker, Washington, Kan. and Kinsey Freeman, Cheyenne, Wyo.; G.H. Francke Livestock Judging Scholarship, Travis Line, Miller and Katie Ochsner, Torrington, Wyo.; William W. Derrick Family Scholarship, Katie Ochsner, Torrington, Wyo. and Mollie Wilken, Bloomfield; RB and Doris Warren Scholarship, Wyatt Decker, Washington, Kan., Justin Taubenheim, Amherst and Alec Ibach, Sumner; Winkler Memorial Livestock Judging Scholarship, Mollie Wilken, Bloomfield and Alec Ibach, Sumner.

Student Ambassadors for 2013-2014, first year are Maci Lienemann, Princeton; Levi McPhillips, Columbus; second year are Ryan Grafel, Hastings and Dustin Renken, Bertrand and outgoing ambassadors are Melisa McDonald, Lincoln and Alec Ibach, Sumner.

The Department of Animal Science is in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources in the university’s Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Dennis Brink, Ph.D.
Animal Science

Sandi Alswager Karstens
IANR News Service