Annual Nebraska LEAD Recognition Banquet March 15 in Lincoln

Sen. Fred Meyer
Sen. Fred Meyer of District 41 in St. Paul, a member of LEAD Group XIV, will be the keynote speaker at the annual Leadership Education/Action Development Program Recognition Banquet on Friday, March 15.
February 22, 2024

Lincoln, Neb. —Senator Fred Meyer (LEAD XIV) – District 41 of St. Paul will be the keynote speaker at the annual LEAD (Leadership Education/Action Development) Program Recognition Banquet Friday, March 15.

Meyer’s address will provide insight on leadership development while addressing the need for quality leadership at all levels and aspects of society. The banquet will be held to honor Nebraska LEAD Class 41 at the Nebraska East Union on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s East Campus.

During the banquet, the Nebraska LEAD Alumni Association will also be presenting the 2024 “Dr. Allen G. Blezek Friend of LEAD” award. “This very prestigious award is presented annually to an individual or organization who has a distinguished history of providing outstanding support to the Nebraska LEAD Program. The award honors Dr. Blezek, the long-time director who passed away in 2020.” according to LEAD Program Director Dr. Terry Hejny. This year’s recipient is Donna Hutchens, long-time friend, and supporter of LEAD. 

Prior to the banquet, the Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council will conduct its annual meeting at 4:30 p.m.  The council will elect 2024-25 officers to its board of directors.

Social hour will begin at 5:30 p.m. followed by the 6:30 p.m. banquet.

Banquet reservations are $30 and may be made by calling the Nebraska LEAD Program office at (402) 472-6810 no later than March 8.

Nebraska LEAD 41 Fellows by hometown that are completing the two-year leadership development program are:

ALBION: Amanda Berg

ARTHUR: Karina Christensen

ATKINSON: Amber Shane

BATTLE CREEK:  Brian Schwartz

BEATRICE: Abby Lineweber

BRADY: Steve Vaughn

DICKENS: Caleb Ayers

GORDON: Anna Shadbolt

HEBRON: Lance Pachta

IMPERIAL: Jakob Burke, Jon Lechtenberg

KEARNEY: Makayla Fox, Rhett Montgomery

KIMBALL: Jamie Bright

LINCOLN: Tyler Wellman

MILFORD: Allissa Troyer

NORTH BEND: Joe Ruskamp

NORTH LOUP: Luke Zangger

OMAHA: Easton Eggers

SCRIBNER: Chris Beerbohm

The Nebraska LEAD Program includes men and women, currently active in production agriculture and agribusiness and is a two-year leadership development program under the direction of the Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council, in cooperation with the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

For more information, or to request an application for Nebraska LEAD 43, contact the Nebraska LEAD Program, 104 Agricultural Communications Building, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE 68583-0940, telephone 402-472-6810 or email the Nebraska LEAD Program at The application deadline is June 15.

Share to:

News Release Contact


Ag Leadership