CASNR announces incoming student Change Maker scholarship recipients

Tiffany Heng-Moss speaking to crowd
Dean Tiffany Heng-Moss leads the new student welcome for CASNR students. Photo by Craig Chandler / University Communication.
June 8, 2020

Lincoln, Neb. —The College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln launched the CASNR Change Maker Competition for prospective and current students who dare to dream big and do the extraordinary to address worldwide issues. The video competition was held April 20 through May 15 and attracted more than 50 submissions, each pitching their big idea to address our global society’s grandest challenges.

Eight full-tuition scholarships for the 2020-21 academic year for incoming CASNR students were awarded on June 1. The following students’ videos were evaluated on their creativity in tackling the grand challenge(s) of their choosing, how they will achieve it and leave their mark on the world, and alignment of their idea with one or more of the University of Nebraska’s aspirations. A committee comprised of Emeriti faculty, CASNR faculty, staff and students have selected the following individuals:

  • Caleb Durheim, agricultural economics; Sunbury, Ohio
  • Brett Gerdes, agronomy; Auburn, Neb.
  • Elizabeth Karnopp, biochemistry; Oakland, Neb.
  • Kaitlyn Lee, forensic science; Mansfield, Texas
  • Alex Lautenschlager, fisheries and wildlife; Lincoln, Neb.
  • Aliyah Muniz, forensic science; Papillion, Neb.
  • Cole Simmons, biochemistry; Parkville, Mo.
  • Lydia Storm, forensic science; Lawrence, Kan.

“CASNR is blown away by the innovation and creativity all applicants have shown us during the competition. These students are enthusiastic about making a change and dedicated to their education. We are extremely excited for them to make their big ideas a reality in our college,” said CASNR Dean Tiffany Heng-Moss.

The winning videos will be shared on CASNR’s Facebook page for the People’s Choice Award. The winner whose video receives the most likes and reactions will also receive a $1,000 textbook scholarship. Follow along at


Share to:

News Release Contact