Heng-Moss, Stoltenow among Leadership Fellows Honored at APLU Meeting

East Campus pillars at enterance
December 13, 2021

Lincoln, Neb. —Two University of Nebraska leaders were among 26 Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) honored during the Associaton of Public and Land-grant Universities' recent annual meeting.

Tiffany Heng-Moss, dean of UNL’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Charles Stoltenow, who will begin his new position as dean and director of Nebraska Extension on Jan. 1, 2022, were both honored during a virtual ceremony in November.

Heng-Moss, Stoltenow, and the other 24 fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and the broader higher education and food systems. 

The FSLI is a 2-year program designed for experienced leaders in academia, government, and industry.  Through a dynamic curriculum that includes three executive style residential sessions, individual coaching, mentoring, and personal projects, the FSLI seeks to enhance personal leadership ability, develop skills and knowledge for organizational change, and broaden perspectives on integrated food systems.  

Fellows report that the FSLI experience has had a significant impact on their leadership abilities.  Leadership growth can be measured in many different ways, and more than 40% of the FSLI Fellow Alumni have experienced promotions, selection to lead high-profile initiatives, election to university-wide leadership posts, and other recognitions.  Other fellows are using their enhanced leadership and broader food systems perspectives to lead change from their current positions.   

The FSLI is a program of the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.  It was created with financial support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is operated in a partnership between North Carolina State University, The Ohio State University, and California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo.  More information on the FSLI is available at www.fsli.org.

The Fellows honored include:

Mohamed Ahmedna, Dean, College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, North Carolina A&T State University

Thomas J. Baum, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor, Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Iowa State University

Stephen Cameron, Department Head, Entomology, College of Agriculture, Purdue University

Darrell Donahue, previously served as Chair & Director, Biosystems & Agricultural Engineering/Institute of Water Research, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, at Michigan State University (currently serving as Dean and Director of Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design, at West Virginia University)

Damona Doye, Associate Vice President, Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service,  Oklahoma State University

Bob Durborow, Assistant Research Director, College of Agriculture, Communities and Environment, Kentucky State University

Erik Ervin, Chair, Plant and Soil Sciences, College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, University of Delaware

Will Evans, previously served as Department Head, Food Science Nutrition and Health Promotion, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, at Mississippi State University Currently serving as Executive Associate Dean, for Academic Affairs in the College of Nursing and Health Professions at The University of Southern Mississippi.

Jagger Harvey, Director, Post-Harvest Loss Innovation Lab, College of Agriculture and Department of Plant Pathology, Kansas State University

Mark Haub, Program Director, Food, Nutrition, Dietetics and Health, College of Health and Human Sciences, Kansas State University

Tiffany Heng-Moss, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Tiffany Heng-Moss

Woodie Hughes Jr., Assistant Extension Administrator State 4-H Program Leader, Cooperative Extension Program, Fort Valley State University 

Shibu Jose, Associate Dean for Research, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, University of Missouri-Columbia

Curt Lacy, Regional Extension Coordinator,Delta Extension Region, Mississippi State University Extension Service    

Desmond R. Layne, Department Head, Horticulture, College of Agriculture, Auburn University

Peter Livingston, Department Head, BioResource and Agricultural Engineering, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, California Polytechnic State University at San Luis Obispo.

John McEvoy, Department Head, Microbiological Sciences, CAFSNR, North Dakota State University

David Monks, Associate Director, NC Agricultural Research Service, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, NC State University

Steven M. Neal, Associate Dean and Director for Academic Programs, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, The Ohio State University

Anuradha Prakash, Program Director, Food Science, Schmid College of Science and Technology, Chapman University

Jason Ross, Director, Iowa Pork Industry Center, Iowa State University

Dustin Starkey, Director, Research & Development, Abbott Nutrition

Charles Stoltenow, Assistant Director, Agriculture and Natural Resources Program Leader, Extension, North Dakota State University

Charles Stoltenow

Joseph Sullivan, Professor and Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of Maryland.

Bobby Torres, Department Head, Agricultural Education, Technology and Innovation College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Arizona

Jacqueline Wilkins, Associate Dean and Director, Department Chair, OSU Extension, The Ohio State University

Share to: