Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council Elects New Officers

March 18, 2014

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council recently elected new officers and board members during its annual meeting.

Newly elected officers include Chairman of the Board, Bob Balfany of Lincoln; Vice Chair, Terry Schutte of Lincoln; Secretary, Ron Pavelka of Glenvil; and Treasurer, Rob Robertson of Roca.

Newly elected board members include: Cindi Allen of Ogallala, Bryan Barrett of Gering, Galen Frenzen of Fullerton, and Royce Schaneman of Denton. Re-elected for a second three-year term were Greg Ibach of Sumner and Terry Schutte of Lincoln.  

Other board members include:  Eric Brown of Lincoln, Jill Brown of Lincoln who serves as the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources Liaison Representative, Jarid Childears of North Platte, Jim Farrell of Omaha, Mark Holubek of David City who serves as President of the Nebraska LEAD Alumni Association, Carol Hudkins of Malcolm, Stephanie Liska of Wayne, Brad Lubben of Eagle, Larry Pearson of Bennington, Leland Poppe of North Platte, William Rhea III of Arlington, and Ray Ward of Kearney.

The Council's president is Terry Hejny, who also serves as the director of the Nebraska LEAD Program.

The Nebraska LEAD Program includes men and women, currently active in production agriculture and agribusiness and is a two-year leadership development program under the direction of the Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the University of Nebraska's Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

For more information, or to request an application for Nebraska LEAD 34, which will begin in September of 2014, contact the Nebraska LEAD Program, 318 Biochemistry Hall, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE 68583-0763.  You may also call 402-472-6810 or email  Applications will be due June 15, 2014.

Terry Hejny
Nebraska LEAD Program

Sandi Karstens
IANR News Service