Six Nebraska students inducted into ASBMB honor society

Six biochemistry major’s from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln have been selected to be members of the ASBMB Chi Omega Lambda Honor Society.  Pictured left to right are Andrew Schacht, Sam Taylor(2016 inductee), Brianna Kellar, Tiffany Truong, Colton Roessner, Allison Vlach and Drew Egger. (Photo: Erin Sayer)

May 17, 2017

Lincoln, Neb. — Six biochemistry students from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln have been inducted into the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chi Omega Lambda Honor Society.  To be inducted into the honor society, students must exhibit excellence in scholarly achievement, research accomplishments and outreach activities.  

The biochemistry department nominated six students for induction, and all were selected. A total of 41 students were selected for induction nationwide. 

Students inducted, listed by hometown:  

LINCOLN: Tiffany Truong

OMAHA: Colton Roessner

PAPILLION: Brianna Kellar

LODI, WISCONSIN: Sam Taylor (2016 inductee)



TOPEKA, KANSAS: Allison Vlach

All students were presented their official ASBMB honor cord during an induction ceremony held in conjunction with the Department of Biochemistry’s annual graduation reception on May 5.

ASBMB is a national nonprofit scientific and educational organization with over 12,000 members. The society’s purpose is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through the publication of scientific journals, organization of scientific meetings, advocacy for funding of basic research and education, support of science education journals at all levels and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce.

Erin Sayer
Chief Academic Advisor/Recruiter
Department of Biochemistry