Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program Announces Scholarship Recipients

East Campus pillars at enterance

May 30, 2013

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln has awarded 15 students with scholarships; six were recognized as Engler Scholars and thus will receive renewable awards while nine were awarded one-time scholarships.

The Paul F. and Virginia J. Engler Foundation founded the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship program in 2010 with a gift of $20 million over 10 years. The program aims to identify students with entrepreneurial drive and mentor their ability to build and run businesses through innovative curriculum and professional development opportunities.

"The Engler program provides student support in the way of scholarships, study abroad assistance, internship and entrepreneurial development, and networking with innovators, leaders and entrepreneurs through a variety of programs including the Engler Lectures Series," said Tom Field, the Paul Engler Chair of Agribusiness Entrepreneurship. "The ultimate goal of the Engler program is to create employers and community builders."

These students won up to four-year renewable scholarships of $10,000:

– Erich Vogel is a freshman biochemistry major from Hastings. Vogel spent the last year studying in China, participating in the U.S. State Department's National Security Language Initiative for Youth to Zhuhai, China.

– Spencer Hartman, from Champion, is an agribusiness major. Hartman developed a hydroponic tomato business and is the state FFA president.

– Davis Behle, from Kearney, is an agribusiness major. Behle owns a cattle enterprise and serves on the Attorney General Youth Advisory Board.

– Haley Bledsoe, a freshman from Blair, is an animal science major. She manages a pumpkin patch and corn maze business.

– Lukas Fricke, from Ulysses, is a sophomore agronomy/animal science major. Fricke is building a business focused on applying smart technology to farm operations.

– Jared Knobbe is a sophomore agribusiness major from Imperial. He is working on expanding affordable housing in rural communities and he owns a horse shoeing business.

These students won one-time scholarship between $1,000 and $3,000:

– Amanda Castle is a transfer student from Olathe, Colo. She is majoring in agribusiness and is a partner in a cow-calf business.

– Callin Ledall is a freshman agribusiness major from Imperial. Ledall runs a lawn care and snow removal business. 

– Matthew Treadway is a sophomore mechanized systems management major from Ashland. He owns a tree service and snow removal business.

– Larissa Wach is a sophomore agribusiness major from Wauneta. Her business involves providing a workbook that facilitates spiritual growth.

– Melinda Knuth is a sophomore horticulture major from Hartford, S.D. She is pursuing business models involving international flower sales and hydroponic forage production.

– Adam Vetter is a junior agribusiness major from Franklin. He runs a lawn care service.

– Grant Mitchell is a freshman animal science major from Malcolm. He has experience in marketing produce through farmer's markets, equine therapy and cattle enterprises.

– Kelsey Foster is a freshman horticulture major from Berwyn. She is focused on developing landscape enterprises as a component of the family farm.

– Colleen Melvin is a freshman food science and technology major from Bennington. She operates Good Stuff, a baked goods company and markets through local farmer's market outlets.

– Skyler Adamek is a freshman animal science major from Seward. Adamek developed a livestock watering system and is marketing it under her company as Sky Waterworks.

Tom Field, Ph.D.
Paul Engler Chair of Agribusiness Entrepreneurship
Director, Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program

Heather Haskins
Student Writer

Dan Moser
IANR News Service

Share to: