Gamma Sigma Delta presents honors to faculty, students

IANR Associate Vice Chancellor Ron Yoder receives the Gamma Sigma Delta Award of Merit for Outstanding Achievement from CASNR Dean Steve Waller (Dana W.R. Boden – University of Nebraska–Lincoln Libraries)

February 7, 2017

Lincoln, Neb. — The Nebraska Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the honor society of agriculture, held its new member initiation and awards banquet on Jan. 29 in Lincoln.

Gamma Sigma Delta is an honor society dedicated to recognizing academic achievements and accomplishments of students, faculty, alumnus, industry and university supporters. The Nebraska Chapter of Gamma Sigma delta annually honors individuals who have contributed to the understanding and furthering of agriculture and related sciences.

Awards presented and recipients included:

  • Outstanding undergraduate student: Jacob Givens, Omaha, microbiology. Other finalists for the award were Monica Gotschall, Columbus, fisheries and wildlife; Megan Pamperin, Clive, Iowa, biological systems engineering; Kara Robbins, Brookings, South Dakota, animal science; Robert Schroeder, Seward, environmental restoration science; Natalie Strawhecker, Omaha, nutrition and health sciences; and Emma Winters, Omaha, animal science.   
  • Outstanding undergraduate senior: Elizabeth Carreiro, Rapid City, South Dakota, animal science. Other finalists for the award were Andrea Gurney, Huntley, Wyoming, agribusiness; Alissa Martindale, Gretna, animal science; Toni Rasmussen, Albion, agricultural education; and Mackenzie Strehle, Minnetrista, Minnesota, nutrition and health sciences.
  • Outstanding graduate student: Amy Desaulniers, St. Louis, Missouri, animal science. Other finalists for the award were Kyle Koch, Lincoln, entomology; and Joshua Miller, Lincoln, agronomy and horticulture.
  • Excellence in teaching: Thomas Burkey, animal science
  • Excellence in extension: Robert Wright, entomology
  • Excellence in research: Jeyam Subbiah, biological systems engineering

The society’s most prestigious award, the award of merit for distinguished achievement in agriculture, was awarded to IANR Associate Vice Chancellor Ron Yoder.

“For more than a century the members of Gamma Sigma Delta have been promoting and recognizing excellence in agricultural sciences. It is an honor to join those who have received the award of merit in the past,” said Yoder. 

Gamma Sigma Delta welcomed 35 new members into the society, including10 junior and 10 senior undergraduate students. Only the top 5 percent of juniors and 15 percent of seniors, based on grade point average, are invited to join Gamma Sigma Delta. 12 graduate students, and faculty members Lena Luck, assistant professor in the Department of Animal Science; Amitkumar Jhala, assistant professor in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture; and Thomas Weissling, associate professor in the Department of Entomology were also welcomed as new members.

To learn more about Gamma Sigma Delta, visit

Robert Wright
Research and Extension Entomologist
Department of Entomology