University recognizes 52 future Huskers during FFA convention

FFA 2019
The University of Nebraska-Lincoln recently recognized 52 high school seniors from Nebraska FFA chapters who have committed to attend the university in the fall. (Craig Chandler | University Communication)

April 15, 2015

Lincoln, Neb. — On April 3, the University of Nebraska–Lincoln recognized 52 high school seniors from Nebraska FFA chapters who have committed to attend the university in the fall.

A signing ceremony was part of the 91st Nebraska FFA State Convention in Lincoln. FFA members, advisers, guests and several university leaders — including Chancellor Ronnie Green and Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources Harlan Vice Chancellor Mike Boehm — participated in the event at the Nebraska Coliseum.

"I want to congratulate you on what will be one of the best decisions you’ve made in your life,” Green told the future Huskers. “We’re here to help you be successful and get the best education you can get."

Green was a state FFA officer and member in Virginia.

Following the opening remarks, each student was announced with their hometown and intended major. As the names were announced, they were met with cheers from their fellow FFA members in the crowd. After the students signed a large "N," Green, Boehm and the other dignitaries lined up to congratulate them with high-fives.

The state convention brought more than 8,000 FFA members, advisers, parents and guests to Lincoln. It featured educational sessions, workshops, a career fair, a leadership academy, interviews and leadership skill sessions. The events are designed to prepare high school students for careers in agriculture, Nebraska's largest industry.

"We need your help figuring out how to help propel the world forward as our population increases," Boehm said. "We look forward to you joining us on campus, whether you’re in ag, architecture, business or engineering."

The following is a list by hometown of students who were recognized during the signing ceremony and their intended major(s).

  • Amherst: Sam Florell, grazing livestock systems

  • Beatrice: Kelsay Schlichtman, animal science and pre-veterinary science

  • Belvidere: Taralee Hudson, animal science

  • Blair: Jaycie Meggison, agribusiness; Abby O’Brien, animal science, and agricultural and environmental sciences communication

  • Bruning: Isaac Baysinger, computer engineering

  • Carleton: Emilie Schardt, agribusiness

  • Curtis: Tristin Smith, animal science; Sydney Veldhuizen, pre-veterinary science

  • Decatur: Cassidy Farrens, undecided

  • Deweese: Boone Svoboda, animal science and grazing livestock systems

  • Elba: Kiaya Radke, agricultural and environmental sciences communication

  • Elgin: Hunter Reestman, undecided; Kira Widger, undecided

  • Genoa: Kate Mohr, animal science and pre-veterinary science; Kelsey Swantek, agricultural education

  • Grand Island: Katie Eberl, agricultural education; Garret Laub, engineering; Peyton Traudt, business

  • Hastings: Luke Krabel, civil engineering

  • Hooper: Taylor Gregory, agricultural and environmental sciences communication

  • Lincoln: Rieley Kowalski, animal science and pre-veterinary science; Erica Riley, biology; Jenifer Velzquez, environmental science

  • Lyons: Nick Ronnfeldt, animal science; Brandi Simonsen, health sciences

  • Mead: Bryn Hannan, undecided

  • Minatare: Marco Martinez, computer science

  • Mullen: Koby Walker, PGA golf management

  • Norfolk: Mercedes Barg, animal science; Autumn Gubbels, agricultural education; Christopher Lidgett, grassland studies; Kenzie Radenz, animal science; Taylor Suhr, social sciences; Tori Wacker, animal science; Alison West, animal science

  • Oak: Kalee Fanning, nursing

  • Ohiowa: Glenn Meyer, animal science

  • Petersburg: Lauren Seier, pre-veterinary science

  • Plymouth: Alexis Gerritse, animal science

  • Raymond: Rachael Lange, philosophy and Russian

  • Shelton: Luryn Hendrickson, architecture; Anna Palmer, nursing

  • Silver Creek: Lana Hebda, agribusiness

  • Stanton: Sam Bates, animal science

  • Sutton: Madison Nuss, nursing; Lacey Freking, animal science; Seth George, chemical engineering

  • Valparaiso: Allissa Turnwall, animal science

  • Wallace: Haylee Lopez, horticulture; Blake Pelster, agribusiness

  • Yutan: Collin Morrissey, agribusiness

Haley Apel
Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Share to: