Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program Announce Scholarship Winners

East Campus pillars at enterance

July 8, 2014

LINCOLN, Neb. — Recipients of Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Scholarships at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln have been named for the 2014-15 academic year.

Scholarships are awarded in two categories – an undergraduate renewable award of up to $10,000 per year as well as one-time scholarships up to $4,000.

These scholarships recognize students with high capacity to bring entrepreneurial talent to the marketplace, specifically focused on business development in the wide domain of agriculture.

Undergraduate one-time award winners, class, hometown and major include: Katrina Santiago, freshman, Miami, Fla., animal science; Taylor Buckley, freshman, Franktown, Colo., animal science; Jon Janhke, sophomore, Bancroft, Mechanized Systems Management; Jared McKeever, junior, Wymore, animal science; Larissa Wach, senior, Wauneta, agribusiness; Emily Bledsoe, freshman, Blair, agribusiness; Matt Treadway, junior, Ashland, Mechanized Systems Management; Andrew Bader, freshman, Gresham, agribusiness; Madeline Cass, sophomore, Lincoln, applied science; Kelsey Foster, sophomore, Berwyn, horticulture; Reece Gronewold, freshman, Pickrell, applied science; Tyler Haun, sophomore, Spencer, agricultural education; Jamie Mashino, freshman, Spencer, agribusiness; Jessica Schmidt, freshman, Gothenburg, Pre-Vet; Zach Settje, freshman, Raymond, animal science; Mathew Grimes, freshman, Raymond, grazing livestock systems; Melinda Knuth, Junior, Hartford, S.D., horticulture.

Students receiving renewable scholarships include: Jeff Hornung, sophomore, Davey, agribusiness; Sam Morse, freshman, Columbus, agronomy; Curtis Wetovick, junior, Fullerton, animal science; Davis Behle, sophomore, Kearney, agribusiness; Haley Bledsoe, sophomore, Blair, animal science; Joe Duba, senior, Wilber, agronomy; Steven Fish, junior, Imperial, agribusiness; Lukas Fricke, junior, Ulysses, animal science; Doug Grotrian, senior, Johnson, agronomy; Haley Harthoorn, senior, Ainsworth, agribusiness; Spencer Hartman, sophomore, Imperial, agribusiness; Jared Knobbe, junior, Imperial, agribusiness; Logan Peters, junior, Pender, animal science; Travis Schiefelbein, junior, Kimball, Minn., animal science; Rachel Stevens, senior, Fall City, horticulture; Dylan Tegtmeier, junior, Malcolm, wildlife biology; Erich Vogel, sophomore, Hastings, biochemistry.

Established in 2010 by a gift from the Paul and Virginia Engler Foundation, the Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program has grown to involve more than 100 students at the university.

The program offers an academic minor focused on business concept development, significant opportunities to develop professional business skills outside the classroom, relationship building, leadership and service opportunities as well as the support for international experiences focused on entrepreneurship and enterprise creation.

More information can be found at engler.unl.edu or by contacting Tom Field, Director of the program at engler@unl.edu. The deadline for scholarship applications for the 2015-16 academic year is Feb. 15, 2015 and the application can be accessed at engler.unl.edu.

Tom Field, Ph.D.
Paul Engler Chair of Agribusiness Entrepreneurship
Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program

Sandi Alswager Karstens
IANR News Service

Share to: